Category: Uncategorized

Pushing a Fellow Author’s Work – Web of Eyes

I generally don’t do this, but someone asked.  This is not an endorsement. I haven’t read the book, so if you don’t like it don’t blame me. It’s for 99 cents for a week or so and you can read it for free if you’ve got Kindle Unlimited. The good? I like the MC’s name. The bad? Web of Eyes sort of sounds creepy, doesn’t it?  – Guy

Web of Eyes Amazon Linkhttps://www.amazon.com/dp/B079GQY4FN
 
Launch Sale Dates: $0.99 Feb 5th – 11th. $2.99 afterwards. Free in Kindle Unlimited.
An ill king brings circling wolves… 

When Whitney Fierstown, the self-proclaimed “World’s Greatest Thief,” is imprisoned for a foolhardy attempt to steal the crown off the dying King’s head, a determined knight of the King’s Shield provides an ultimatum: rot and die in a dank cell or join him on a dangerous expedition to find the Queen’s traitorous brother, a warlock accused of placing a terrible curse on the heir to the throne.

With the Kingdom at its most vulnerable, these two opposites, devout knight and conniving scoundrel, pursue the traitor to the hellish Webbed Woods. If the pair is to thwart their mischievous target and withstand the horrifying monster lurking in the haunted woods, they must first put aside their differences.

A Sword & Sorcery Epic perfect for fans of Dragon Age and the Forgotten Realms.

 
“Fantastic world building and masterful prose. Definitely a must read for Epic Fantasy fans.” Brian DAnderson, bestselling author of The Godling Chronicles 

 

MAPS Page – Finally Posted

A lot of readers have asked for larger versions of the maps for my stories. I’ve included most of them in a new MAPS page located at the top of the website.

All the maps included are pdfs so they can be enlarged and give you all the detail that you need.

My philosophy on maps is that they need to give the reader an indication where things are located. I don’t spend a lot of time creating elegant maps, but I create them myself so they help me while I write, and help you when you read.

Shira’s Behaviorial Change

As promised, I have just gone through The Sleeping God and given Shira a personality change. Her aggressive tendencies have  been mollified, but not totally eradicated. No more kicks to Pol’s shins, but taps and nudges. She still gets a good poke in from time to time.  I made a few other edits to the manuscript, but none of them affected the story. Hopefully, she won’t appear to be so shrewish as some readers pointed out.

If you’ve read the original version of The Sleeping God, please give Shira the benefit of the doubt in The Emperor’s Pet. She is much better behaved.

Now, on to the next book, The Misplaced Prince.  I hated to make this a cliffhanger, but Pol is embarking on a new chapter in his life and there wasn’t a better place to delineate his Shinkyan experience from his Daeran than showing up on Daera with Demeron as his nursemaid. More excitement to come!

Demeron Draft Complete – End of March Projected Release

I’ve had a few comments about the Demeron novella.  I finished the draft and have run through the story a few times, just getting it back from my editor last night. I have corrections to make, and then a final perusal by an outside person. It will come out to about 60 pages as planned and will be available on Amazon when I’m done.  I’ll keep you posted, but I’m planning on getting this out around the end of March.

I hope to have a cover out in the next week or so.

I’m currently working on The Emperor’s Pet, the fifth Disinherited Prince novel. I’m shooting for the end of April on that one, too, but slipping Demeron in between books four and five might push that novel out a week or two.

The Disinherited Prince is Published!

My twenty-third book has just been published. The Disinherited Prince is the first book in a new series. In my previous post I gave the blurb for the book. We will see where this series goes, but it is currently scheduled to be a seven book series.  We pick up Pol, the disinherited prince, at twelve years old and will see him grow in the first few books. As he gets older his horizons change and he will change, struggling with his identity, his talent and his place in the Baccusol Empire.

It is available at Amazon as an kindle book and in paperback form.

Send me an email and let me know how you like the book.

By the way, the next book in the series is already underway.  This one has to title of The Monk’s Habit.

Change in Plans

PrpleFlameseCvrThmbAnoria of Valir won last year’s character contest. I intended on writing a novel based on her character later in the year, but as I got further into my Mechanisms of Magic trilogy (my draft was 1/3 of the way through the first book), I realized that it didn’t pop the way I wanted it to.

So I’m putting Mech of Magic on the shelf for a bit and am headlong in the midst of creating a series based on Anoria.  The first book takes the Anoria story in The Purple Flames anthology and inserts it further back in the story. I’ve got more characters and more action. Right now, the series is intended to stretch to seven or eight books.

More to come as I continue to pursue Anoria’s story.

Bloodstone and Darkstone Covers Revealed!

The final covers for Bloodstone and Darkstone, books 3 and 4 of the Warstone Quartet are finished.

BloodstoneCvrBloodstone, which is primarily about a princess and a wizard, has a velvet background and crossed swords in the stone. One of the swords is bright and polished that represents youth and the other is worn and dented representing a lot of experience.

Darkstone, a coming of age story for the antagonist and the rousing conclusion has a skull (evil reborn) in the darkstone which lays on top of a Ropponi sword blade. The background is rocky dirt that represents Ayrtan, the dead continent, where the final confrontation takes place.DarkstoneCvr

 

 

Guy to Attend LTUE

I livlogo-footere in Utah.  There are a few writing conferences in the state during the year and I go to them on a sporadic basis.  This year, I’m scheduled to attend all three days of LTUE (Light, The Universe and Everything), which is held in Provo, Utah.  It used to be sponsored by Brigham Young University, but the last few years they have held the event off campus, so I don’t know if it still is.

The conference is February 12, 13, and 14 (Valentine’s Day).  There are usually some very good sessions.  If you run across me, say hello.